Special Notice:  CRCOG is currently updating the Capitol Region Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan. We will be preparing a multi-jurisdictional plan covering all 38 member municipalities. Our member municipalities currently have FEMA approved plans within three different multi-jurisdictional plans (see below). Our intent is to integrate and update the plans.  Contact Lynne Pike DiSanto for more information.

The Capitol Region is active in planning for natural hazards mitigation in order to reduce our vulnerabilities to natural disasters and enable our communities to minimize losses and recover more effectively when disasters do occur. The 2014-2019 Capitol Region Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update  was granted Formal Approval by FEMA on December 5, 2014. This project identified natural hazard risks and vulnerabilities, and strategies for reducing losses regionally and in each member municipality. Formal adoption of the plan by participating municipalities enables each municipality to be eligible to apply for FEMA hazard mitigation project grants. All 30 participating municipalities have adopted the plan.

Executive Summary: 2014-2019 Plan Update

2014-2019 Capitol Region Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update   (35 MB)         

Appendices to 2014-2019 Plan Update:  (42 MB)

A: Planning Process

B: Regional and Municipal Hazus Reports (34 MB)

C: Adoption Resolutions

A copy of the Plan is also available at CRCOG’s offices:
(241 Main Street, 4th Floor, Hartford, CT 06106)
between the hours of 8:30 am and 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday.
Please contact Mary Ellen Kowalewski at 860-522-2217  ext. 222
or Lynne Pike DiSanto at 860-522-2217 ext. 211 with any questions.

The 2014-2019 Capitol Region Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update covers the 30 municipalities which were members of CRCOG prior to 2014. Since that time, eight additional municipalities have joined CRCOG.

Four towns joined CRCOG from the former Windham County COG (Columbia, Coventry, Mansfield and Willington). These former WINCOG towns received Formal Approval from FEMA on January 11, 2016 for their Hazard Mitigation Plan Update, 2015.

Four towns from the former Central Connecticut Regional Planning Agency (CCRPA) also joined CRCOG in 2014 (Berlin, New Britain, Plainville, and Southington). The former CCRPA towns recently updated their natural hazards mitigation plans and received Formal Approval from FEMA on September 13, 2016. A copy of the 2016-2021 Update to the Regional Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan for the former Central Connecticut Region has been posted. Town-specific sections are below:

CRCOG Towns Naugatuck Valley COG Towns
Berlin Bristol
New Britain Plymouth
Plainville Northwest Hills COG Town
Southington Burlington

Comments or questions on the Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan for the former CCRPA towns can be sent to Timothy Malone.


FEMA Review Tools:

FEMA Review Tool – CRCOG

FEMA Review Tool – WINCOG

FEMA Review Tool – CCRPA

You can access the Municipal Sections of each of the thirty communities participating in the 2014-2019 Capitol Region Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update:

Andover Manchester
Avon Marlborough
Bloomfield Newington
Bolton Rocky Hill
Canton Simsbury
East Granby Somers
East Hartford South Windsor
East Windsor Stafford
Ellington Suffield
Enfield Tolland
Farmington Vernon
Glastonbury West Hartford
Granby Wethersfield
Hartford Windsor
Hebron Windsor Locks

You can find out more about natural hazards mitigation planning at:

The State of Connecticut’s Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan

FEMA’s Hazard Mitigation Assistance Programs

Mitigation Ideas from FEMA

NFIP Community Rating System Brochure

CRCOG sponsored a workshop on the National Flood Insurance Program’s Community Rating System on September 15th, 2016  in the West Hartford Town Hall. This workshop for local officials explained how towns and cities can improve flood management and reduce flood insurance premiums for local property owners. Speaker presentations and handout materials are available. Contact Lynne Pike DiSanto for more information.

You can view local flood insurance maps at FEMA’s Flood Map Service Center.