Established in 2005, the Capitol Region Council of Governments (CRCOG) Foundation, Inc. was created to support the broad range of planning and direct service activities carried out locally by Capitol Region municipalities and regionally by CRCOG. The Foundation is dedicated to advancing policies and programs in four strategic areas—Transportation, Community Development, Public Safety and Municipal Services—and serves three key roles: as an educator, a convener and a funder.

Current Work

In the fall of 2015, the CRCOG Foundation launched a workshop series on Next Generation Economic Development.  Designed to convene a diverse audience of key regional stakeholders, the programs feature national best practices and local success stories, work to identify existing barriers/challenges to growth and begin to prescribe some actionable next steps for the region and beyond. To date, three sessions have been held, one covering Talent Development and Advanced Manufacturing, a second one on Innovation and Entrepreneurship, and a third workshop addressing Anchor Institutions, Neighborhood Involvement and the Innovation Economy.

CRCOG Foundation Workshop: Anchor Institutions, Neighborhood Involvement and the Innovation Economy (June 17, 2016)


The accompanying link is http://ct-n.com/ctnplayer.asp?odID=13004.


Meeting Agenda

Speaker Bios

The Baltimore Integration Partnership: Key Messages

Anchor Institutions Join to Restore Economic Vitality, Improve Quality of Life in Hartford’s Southside Neighborhoods (SINA)

Yale University and the New Haven Renaissance


Eugenie Birch, Co-Director, Penn Institute for Urban Research

Michael Kelly, Executive Director, Baltimore Metropolitan Council

Jane Baird, Board Chairman, Southside Institutions Neighborhood Alliance

Michael Morand, Office of Public Affairs and Communications, Yale University

CRCOG Foundation Board of Directors

Stephen Cassano, President

State Senator, CT General Assembly

David Kilbon, Vice President

Town of East Granby, Board of Finance

Lee Erdmann, Secretary

Retired, Volunteer, Part-Time Consultant

Chip Beckett, Treasurer

Town Council Minority Leader, Town of Glastonbury

John Carson

Senior Adviser to the President, University of Hartford

Douglas Fisher

Principal, Advocacy and Development Solutions

Mary Glassman

Manager, Office for Regional Efficiencies, CREC

Matthew Hart

Town Manager, Town of West Hartford

Brian Heavren

Director of Campus Safety, Trinity College

Christ Kervick

First Selectman, Town of Windsor Locks

Marcia Leclerc

Mayor, Town of East Hartford

Robert E. Lee

Town Manager, Plainville

Richard Porth

President/CEO, United Way of Connecticut

Brandon Robertson

Town Manager, Avon

Diane Smith

Director of Planning, Research & Evaluation, Connecticut Housing Finance Authority

Lori Spielman

First Selectman, Town of Ellington

Erin Stewart

Mayor, City of New Britain

Lyle Wray

Executive Director, CRCOG

Mohamad Alkadry

UCONN, Professor and Department Head, Department of Public Policy

Chris Duffy

Amplify Leadership Partners, Principal/Travelers, Senior Director

Hedy Ayers

Community Relations and Economic Development Specialist, Eversource