

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING CRCOG EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO SUBMIT A SPENDING PLAN AND ENTER INTO MEMORANDUMS OF AGREEMENT REGARDING THE FY 2021 FEDERAL HOMELAND SECURITY GRANT FUNDING FOR DEMHS REGION 3

WHEREAS, the Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP) will distribute Memorandum of Agreement Packages for FFY 2021 State Homeland Security Grant Program (SHSGP) funds to each community within DEMHS Region III by the end of September; and

WHEREAS, DEMHS Region III is made of the forty-one communities that comprise the Capitol Region Emergency Planning Committee (CREPC); and

WHEREAS, Each agreement has four signatories; the Chief Executive Officer of the community, the Chair of the Region III Emergency Planning Team, the CRCOG Executive Director, and the DEMHS Commissioner; and

WHEREAS, For FFY 2021 DEMHS will pass through \$401,224 in SHSGP funding, which includes a \$75,918 set aside for the Hartford Bomb Squad and a \$46,025 set-aside for the protection of soft targets; and

WHEREAS, Additional funds to CRCOG will include \$75,918 in Emergency Management Planning Grant (EMPG) funding to be used for the regional HazMat team and \$55,000 in Metropolitan Medical Response System (MMRS) funding for administration and management; and

WHEREAS, A program application was approved by the Capitol Region Emergency Planning Council at their July quarterly meeting. The funding will be spent in the following DEMHS approved areas: personnel and/or contractual planning services, sustainment/maintenance of regional equipment, and training and exercise programs for regional response teams; and

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the CRCOG Policy Board authorizes the CRCOG Executive Director to enter into the FY 2021 MOAs, submit the program application to DEMHS and administer the allocated funds and any associated contracts.

CERTIFICATE I certify the above is a true copy of a resolution adopted by the Policy Board at its meeting held on September 22, 2021. BY: ______ DATE: _____ Lori L. Spielman, Secretary

Andover / Avon / Berlin / Bloomfield / Bolton / Canton / Columbia / Coventry / East Granby / East Hartford / East Windsor / Ellington / Enfield / Farmington Glastonbury / Granby / Hartford / Hebron / Manchester / Mansfield / Marlborough / New Britain / Newington / Plainville / Rocky Hill / Simsbury / Somers South Windsor / Southington / Stafford / Suffield / Tolland / Vernon / West Hartford / Wethersfield / Willington / Windsor / Windsor Locks