Capitol Region Council of Governments

241 Main St., Hartford, CT 06106 Phone: (860) 522-2217 FAX: (860) 724-1274

Policy Board Meeting Wednesday, January 26, 2022 12:00 pm DRAFT UNTIL APPROVED

Meeting access was remote only, consistent with provisions specified in CT Governor Executive Order No. 7B. This meeting was recorded.

Audio may be found here: https://crcog.org/event/policy-board-35

Members and Alternates	Town/Organization
Dan Polhamus	Avon
Brandon Robertson	Avon
Chris Edge	Berlin
Jim Rupert	Bolton
Pamela Sawyer	Bolton
Bob Bessel	Canton
John Elsesser	Coventry
Lisa Thomas	Coventry
Connor Martin	East Hartford
Jason Bowsza	East Windsor
Lori L. Spielman	Ellington
Randal Davis	Hartford
Raul De Jesus Jr.	Hartford
Andrew Tierney	Hebron
Steve Stephanou	Manchester
Toni Moran	Mansfield
Erin Stewart	New Britain
Brock Weber	New Britain
David Nagel	Newington
John Mehr	Rocky Hill
Maria Capriola	Simsbury
Wendy Mackstutis	Simsbury
Mark Sciota	Southington
Sal Titus	Stafford Springs
Colin Moll	Suffield
Lisa Hancock	Tolland
Steve Jones	Tolland
Representative Tammy Nuccio	Tolland
Shari Cantor	West Hartford
Matt Hart	West Hartford
Michael Rell	Wethersfield
Erika Wiecenski	Willington
Peter Souza	Windsor
Staff	
Rob Aloise	CRCOG

CRCOG

CRCOG

CRCOG

Cheryl Assis

Tim Malone

Tracey Malenfant

Aaliyah MillerCRCOGSotoria MontanariCRCOGRobyn NicholsCRCOGLaura QuintilianiCRCOGTerri ThompsonCRCOGLyle WrayCRCOGPauline YoderCRCOG

Guests

Francesco Ricigliano AdvanceCT Michael Ahern Town of Berlin

Alex Johnson Capital Workforce Partners

Beverly Ciurylo Town of Columbia

Grayson Wright CTDOT
Commissioner Mark Boughton DRS
Jonathan Ferrigno Eversource
Mark Massaro Eversource

Vicki Shotland GHTD Matthew Pafford OPM

Max Turgeon City of New Britain Kathie Lutz Rome Smith Lutz

Michael Fisher N/A

1. Call to Order and Roll Call:

First Vice Chairperson Mayor Erin Stewart called the meeting to order at 12:00 pm.

2. Public Comment:

No public comment was offered.

3. Approval of Minutes from December 15, 2021:

First Vice Chairperson Mayor Erin Stewart requested a motion to adopt the minutes of the December 15, 2021 meeting.

Bob Bessel made a motion to approve the Minutes of the December 15, 2021 Policy Board meeting. Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

4. Correspondence/Handouts

a. Spring 2022 UConn PSELC Workshops

The Spring 2022 PSELC Workshops hosted by UConn are offered to CRCOG member towns. Member towns and/or employees are highly encouraged to attend these workshops as they have proven to be beneficial for municipalities in the past.

b. FFY2021 Obligated Projects List

This three-page table lists all the projects that received federal funding in 2021. A total of \$255 million in federal funds was dispersed for both regional and multi-district projects in 2021.

c. CTDOT Capital Plan - CRCOG Comment Letter

This letter outlines the next five years of capital plan projects to be included on our TIP for each fiscal year between FFY22-26. This capital plan does not include additional monies

from the federal government, but the letter asks that they coordinate with CRCOG to identify projects for those additional funds. The letter also notes which projects should be acted on first, including the Hartford Rail Line.

5. MONTHLY REPORTS:

a. Chair and Executive Director

In addition to the report provided, CRCOG was once again awarded the Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from GFOA.

- b. <u>Municipal Services and Purchasing Council</u>
- c. Community Development
- d. Public Safety and Homeland Security
- e. <u>Transportation Committee</u>
- f. MetroHartford Alliance (Tentative)

No report was offered.

g. Capital Workforce Partners (Tentative)

No report was offered.

6. PRESENTATION/UPDATES

a. IIJA - Department of Revenue Services Commissioner Mark Boughton

Commissioner Boughton gave a detailed presentation regarding the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA). He discussed the details of the Act and what it means for CRCOG and our region. For questions, concerns, and more information, Commissioner Boughton can be reached at the Department of Revenue Services at 860-297-5962.

His presentation can be viewed in its entirety here.

ACTION ITEMS:

7. Appointment of Personnel/Finance Committee Members

Due to recent retirements and the latest municipal elections, the Policy Board and its committees have seen significant turnover, resulting in the need of new members for the Personnel and Finance Committee. Mayor Toni Moran volunteered to Chair committee. Lori Spielman and Jon Colman will continue serving on the committee. Mayor Shari Cantor, John Elsesser, and Raul De Jesus volunteered to serve on the Personnel and Finance Committee as well.

Lori Spielman made a motion to approve the Appointment of Personnel/Finance Committee Members. Peter Souza seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

8. Approval of Legislative Agenda

Jason Bowsza made a motion to Approval of the CRCOG 2022 Legislative Agenda. Bob Bessel seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

9. Resolution for CEDS Contract

Peter Souza made a motion to authorize the execution of an agreement with a firm for the development of a COVID recovery focused update to the Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). Bob Bessel seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

10. Resolution for Recovery Coordinator Contract

Jason Bowsza made a motion to authorize the execution of an agreement with a firm to provide recovery coordinator services. Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

11. Resolution for Tech Assistant Contract

Jason Bowsza made a motion to authorize the execution of an agreement with a firm to provide technical assistance to small businesses related to digital and online operations. Lisa Thomas seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

12. Resolution Authorizing Agreement with NACCHO

Dave Nagel made a motion to authorize an agreement with the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO). Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

13. Action: TIP Amendments – (See Attached)

Bob Bessel made a motion to approve the TIP Amendments. Chris Edge seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

14. Authorizing Resolution: LOTCIP Program Administration

Steve Jones made a motion to authorize the execution of agreements for administration of the Local Transportation Capital Improvement Program (LOTCIP). Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

INFORMATION/OPPORTUNITY/RESOURCES

15. Legislative Update

Kathie Lutz provided a brief Legislative Update.

16. Other Business

No other business.

17. Adjournment

With no further discussion items, Chairperson Mayor Erin Stewart made a motion to adjourn.

Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously. The Policy Board Meeting adjourned at 12:55 PM.