Capitol Region Council of Governments

241 Main St., Hartford, CT 06106

Phone: (860) 522-2217 FAX: (860) 724-1274

Policy Board Meeting

Wednesday, December 15, 2021 12:00 pm DRAFT UNTIL APPROVED

Meeting access was remote only, consistent with provisions specified in CT Governor Executive Order No. 7B. This meeting was recorded. Audio may be found here: https://crcog.org/event/policy-board-34

Members and Alternates

Eric Anderson Jon Colman Jim Rupert John Elsesser Connor Martin Mike Walsh Jason Bowsza Lori L. Spielman Larry Niland Raul De Jesus Jr. Steve Stephanou Erin Stewart Brock Weber David Nagel Robert Lee John Mehr Maria Capriola Mark Sciota **Representative Tammy Nuccio** Steve Jones Shari Cantor Matt Hart Erika Wiecenski Peter Souza

Staff

Rob Aloise Cheryl Assis Tracey Malenfant Tim Malone Aaliyah Miller Robyn Nichols Pramod Pandey Laura Quintiliani Lyle Wray Pauline Yoder

Town/Organization

Andover Bloomfield Bolton Coventry East Hartford East Hartford East Windsor Ellington Glastonbury Hartford Manchester New Britain New Britain Newington Plainville Rocky Hill Simsbury Southington Tolland Tolland West Hartford West Hartford Willington Windsor

CRCOG Guests Courtney Hendricson Grayson Wright Mary-Jane Foster Matthew Pafford Kathie Lutz

AdvanceCT CTDOT Interval House CT OPM Rome Smith Lutz

1. Call to Order and Roll Call:

First Vice Chairperson Mayor Erin Stewart called the meeting to order at 12:02 pm.

2. Public Comment:

Grayson Wright from CTDOT took a moment to read a copy of a letter addressed to Dr. Wray from the Commissioner of the Department of Transportation, presented on the behalf of the entire Department. Mr. Wright noted that the entire DOT wished Dr. Wray well on his retirement and remarked on the valued service he brought the Capitol region and the state.

3. Approval of Minutes from November 17, 2021:

First Vice Chairperson Mayor Erin Stewart requested a motion to adopt the minutes of the November 17, 2021 meeting.

Jon Colman made a motion to approve the Minutes of the November 17, 2021 Policy Board meeting. Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

4. Correspondence/Handouts

a. County Equivalency Update

The state has supported recognizing COGs as County Equivalencies. This will take place at a data level to aggregate the census data at the COG level. This will benefit CRCOG as we finalize the Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan as well as other planning/census related projects.

- b. Spring 2022 UConn PSELC Workshops The Spring 2022 PSELC Workshops hosted by UConn are offered to CRCOG member towns. Member towns and/or employees are highly encouraged to attend these workshops as they have proven to be beneficial for municipalities in the past.
- c. CRCOG 2022 Holiday Schedule Attached for informational purposes is the final CRCOG 2022 Holiday Schedule.

5. MONTHLY REPORTS:

- a. Chair and Executive Director
- b. Municipal Services and Purchasing Council
- c. Community Development
- d. Public Safety and Homeland Security
- e. Transportation Committee

f. MetroHartford Alliance (Tentative)

No report was offered.

g. Capital Workforce Partners (Tentative)

No report was offered.

h. Ad Hoc Executive Director Search Committee

The Ad Hoc Executive Director Search Committee has narrowed down the pool of candidates and unanimously selected a top candidate to fill the position. The Committee will be holding a brief Special Policy Board meeting on Tuesday, December 21, 2021 at 11:00 AM to present and vote for their recommendation for the next Executive Director of the Capitol Region Council of Governments.

6. PRESENTATION/UPDATES

a. Services for Domestic Violence in CT – Mary-Jane Foster, President & CEO, Interval House

Ms. Foster discussed services available for Domestic Violence victims in the state of Connecticut. For questions, concerns, and more information, Ms. Foster can be reached by email at <u>mj.foster@intervalhousect.org</u>. She also provided other resources, including the Safe Connect statewide hotline, 888-774-2900.

ACTION ITEMS:

7. Approval of the CRCOG Policy Board Officers and Executive Committee

It was proposed that the CRCOG Policy Board Officers be comprised of the following: Chairperson: Erin Stewart (New Britain); 1st Vice-Chair: Shari Cantor (West Hartford); 2nd Vice-Chair: Lori Spielman (Ellington); Secretary: Jason Bowsza (East Windsor); Treasurer: Michael Walsh (East Hartford).

The Executive Committee will include representatives from Bloomfield, Bolton, Columbia, Coventry, East Hartford, East Windsor, Ellington, Farmington, Hartford, Manchester, Marlborough, New Britain, Newington, Simsbury, Southington, Tolland, West Hartford, Wethersfield, and Windsor.

Jon Colman made a motion to approve the CRCOG Policy Board Officers and Executive Committee. Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

8. Resolution Authorizing CRCOG to Submit a BRIC Grant Application Lori Spielman made a motion to authorize CRCOG to Submit a BRIC Grant Application. Jon Colman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

9. Resolution Authorizing the Acceptance of a Sub-grant from the CT DECD Jon Colman made a motion to authorize the acceptance of a sub-grant from the CT DECD. Mayor Erin Stewart seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

10. Resolution To Accept a Grant from The Department Of Public Health Jon Colman made a motion to accept a grant from the Department of Public Health. Mayor Erin Stewart seconded the motion and it carried unanimously. 11. Approval of the 2022 Policy Board and Executive Committee Schedules Jon Colman made a motion to approve 2022 Policy Board and Executive Committee Schedules. Mayor Erin Stewart seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

12. Approval to Extend Lyle Wray's Consultant Contract to February or March of 2022 Jon Colman made a motion to Extend Lyle Wray's Consultant Contract to February or March of 2022. John Elsesser seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

13. Approval of CRCOG Letter to CCM Regarding Solid Waste Peter Souza made a motion to approve the CRCOG letter to CCM regarding solid waste. Jon Colman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

Brief discussion followed.

METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

14. Action: TIP Amendments – (See Attached) Jon Colman made a motion to approve the TIP Amendments. Mayor Erin Stewart seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

15. Resolution to Support Targets for CTDOT Safety Performance Measures Jon Colman made a motion to Support Targets for CTDOT Safety Performance Measures. Bob Lee seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

16. Resolution Authorizing Route 20 Corridor Study Agreement Jon Colman made a motion to Authorizing Route 20 Corridor Study Agreement. Peter Souza seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.

INFORMATION/OPPORTUNITY/RESOURCES

10. Legislative Update Kathie Lutz provided a brief Legislative Update.

11. Other Business

Jon Colman encouraged the Policy Board to attend the special Policy Board meeting being held on Tuesday, December 21 at 11:00 AM.

12. Adjournment

With no further discussion items, Chairperson Mayor Erin Stewart requested a motion to adjourn.

Jon Colman moved to adjourn the meeting at 12:36 PM. Lori Spielman seconded the motion and it carried unanimously.