



Central CT Solid Waste Authority (CCSWA) Minutes

Monday, July 17, 2023

2:00 p.m. EST

Avon Town Manager

Members and Designees

Brandon Robertson
Steve Hall
Daniel Carter
Louis Spina
Eden Wimpfheimer
Steve Hall
Donald Nunes
Kathleen Blonski
Russ Arnold
Kirk Severance
Mike Looney
Dave Stueber
Tim Bockus
Tom Roy
Anthony (Tony) Manfre
Megan Siegel
Fred Presley
Michael Rell

Bloomfield Selectman
Bloomfield Public Works
Cromwell Public Works
East Granby First Selectwoman
East Granby Selectman
Enfield Public Works
Farmington Town Manager
Farmington Public Works
Granby Public Works
Hartford Public Works
Hartford – Chief of Staff to Mayor
Manchester Public Works
Simsbury Public Works
South Windsor - Superintendent of Pollution Control
South Windsor, Pollution Control
Wethersfield Town Manager
Wethersfield Mayor

Staff

Matt Hart Pauline Yoder Robyn Nichols Laura Rosenbluth CRCOG Executive Director CRCOG Chief Operating Officer CRCOG Principal Program Manager, MSC CRCOG Executive Assistant

- 1. The virtual meeting was called to order by Matt Hart, CRCOG Executive Director, at 2:01 p.m.
- 2. Roll Call and Introductions were done.
- 3. There was no public comment.

- 4. June 16, 2023 CCSWA Meeting Minutes were approved unanimously (Motion by Russ Arnold (Farmington) and seconded by Tom Roy (Simsbury).
- 5. Legislative Updates related to waste materials management, EPR (Tires) and Gas Cylinders, and status of RWA Grant were provided by CRCOG Staff, Robyn Nichols.
- 6. CRCOG Executive Director, Matt Hart, presented CCSWA Officer positions, roles, and responsibilities and slate of CCSWA Officers seeking election:

Chair - Mike Looney (Harford) Vice-Chair – Tom Roy (Simsbury) Treasurer – Russ Arnold (Farmington) Secretary – Fred Presley (Wethersfield)

Motion to approve CCSWA Officer Slate made by Tim Bockus (Manchester) and (2nd) Kathy Blonski (Farmington). CCSWA Officer Slate was approved unanimously.

Initial CCSWA Officers will serve from date of election (07/17/23) until December Annual meeting and are eligible to run for next term to begin January 1, 2024.

- Matt Hart (CRCOG) announced CCSWA Solid Waste Tonnage Representative Dave Stueber (Hartford) and CCSWA Recycling Tonnage Representative – Kasia Purciello (Manchester), who will serve through December 2023. Tonnage representation will be reviewed at December 18th Annual meeting.
- 8. Discussion/Q&A Newly elected CCSWA Chair, Mike Looney, said a few words
- 9. Discussion of Next Steps
 - Amend/Approve CRCOG/CCSWA MOU
 - Review of 2023 Meeting Calendar (Executive Committee and Full CCSWA Membership)
 - RWA Grant, Request for Addtl. Info. might be forthcoming from CTDEEP
 - Ordinance review/amend, as needed
 - Meet with newly elected Executive Committee and CCSWA Officers before August 21, 2023 meeting

10. Meeting adjourned at 2:24 p.m. ET.

CRCOG DOES NOT DISCRIMINATE ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY OR LANGUAGE.

Individuals may request auxiliary aids and/or language assistance by contacting (860) 522-2217 x4293 as soon as possible.

Un interprete estará disponible para esta reunión si usted lo solicita al 860-522-2217, x4293, lo más pronto posible. Jeśli potrzebujesz tłumacza na język polski, zadzwoń (860) 522-2217, x4293 jak najszybciej.

Esta es una reunión virtual. Para mayor información sobre la conexión, por favor contactar a Karen Stewartson al correo electrónico: <u>kstewartson@crcog.org</u>

To będzie zebranie zdalne. O informacji o odpowiednim linku internetowym poprosimy kontaktować Karen Stewartson na adres email <u>kstewartson@crcog.org lub</u> pod numerem telefonu 860-724-4293