



September 14, 2023

The Honorable Pete Buttigieg Secretary of Transportation U.S. Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Ave, SE Washington, DC 20590

## Re: City of New Britain, CT NAE Grant Application - Letter of Support

Dear Secretary Buttigieg:

I am very pleased to offer my support on behalf of the Capitol Region Council of Governments (CRCOG) for the City of New Britain's grant application under the US DOT's Neighborhood Access and Equity (NAE) Grant Program. CRCOG provides planning, programs, and other services to its 38 member municipalities in Greater Hartford and is the region's designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO).

New Britain is one of CRCOG's largest communities, and while it is an economically disadvantaged community, it is also one that is making great progress. Under the leadership of Mayor Erin Stewart, New Britain has been committed to addressing the very type of projects the NEA Grant program is striving to promote. New Britain's focus on Complete Streets and bicycle, pedestrian, and transit safety and connectivity has been steadfast and second to none.

The City's Route 174 Realignment and Pedestrian Improvements project will provide many of the benefits sought after by the NAE Grant program. This project entails a safe, high-quality connection between the Eastside NRZ neighborhoods and downtown New Britain, and will improve pedestrian connectivity to the East Main Street BTR Station, the Chamberlain Elementary School, Chesley Park, as well as the John Downey Drive Industrial Park job center. It is a project that has been well vetted, studied, and planned, and is consistent with the goals outlined in CRCOG's Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and Regional Plan of Conservation and Development (POCD). Most importantly, it is a project that will improve quality of life for those living in the eastside neighborhoods of New Britain.

I appreciate your consideration and enthusiastically urge you to support the City's application.

Sincerely,

Mr. Hart

Matthew W. Hart Executive Director

CC: Erin Stewart, New Britain Mayor CRCOG Policy Board & Transportation Committee R. Aloise, Director of Transportation Planning, CRCOG C. Radzins, Deputy Director of Transportation Planning, CRCOG

Andover | Avon | Berlin | Bloomfield | Bolton | Canton | Columbia | Coventry | East Granby | East Hartford | East Windsor | Ellington | Enfield | Farmington | Glastonbury | Granby | Hartford | Hebron | Manchester | Mansfield | Marlborough | New Britain | Newington | Plainville | Rocky Hill | Simsbury | Somers | South Windsor | Southington | Stafford | Suffield | Tolland | Vernon | West Hartford | Wethersfield | Willington | Windsor | Windsor Locks