

## Transportation Committee Meeting Monday October 23, 2023 | 12:00 PM Held Remotely via Zoom

<u>Name</u> <u>Organization</u>

Eric Anderson Andover Larry Baril Avon Michael Ahern Berlin Bloomfield Jon Colman Neil Pade Canton Todd Penney Coventry **East Hartford** Doug Wilson Leonard Norton East Windsor Tom Modzelewski Ellington Russ Arnold Farmington Frank Dellaripa Hartford Owen Deutsch Hartford Jeff LaMalva Manchester John Carrington Mansfield **Peter Hughes** Marlborough Chris Zibbideo Newington **Rob Trottier New Britain** Jason Scott Rocky Hill Adam Kessler Simsbury **Todd Rolland** Somers **Annette Turnquist** Southington

Jeffrey Doolittle South Windsor Devin Cowperthwaite Stafford Bill Hawkins Suffield David Corcoran Tolland

Greg Sommer West Hartford
Derrick Gregor Wethersfield
Susan Choate Windsor
Paul McNamara GHTD

Vernon

**Guests** 

**David Smith** 

Jonathan Thiesse Bloomfield
Craig Babowicz CTDOT
Kristen Levesque CTDOT
Grayson Wright CTDOT
Jennifer Carrier FHWA

Chuck Harlow Fuss & O'Neill

Emily Nacco GHTD
Mao Yousheng Hartford
Larry Murphy Jacobs

DRAFT Until Endorsed by Committee Mark Moriarty Paul Dickson Duane Martin New Britain Newington West Hartford

## **CRCOG Staff**

Rob Aloise, Mike Cipriano, Matt Hart, Roger Krahn, Devon Lectenberg, Anaka Maher, Aaliyah Miller, Sotoria Montanari, Pramod Pandey, Cara Radzins, Karen Stewartson, Terri Thompson

The record below includes a brief description of each agenda item as well as the timestamp for the beginning of that discussion. The audio recording for this meeting is available at <a href="www.crcog.org">www.crcog.org</a>.

- 1. **Roll Call 0:00** The meeting was called to order at 12:01 pm by the Chair Jon Colman from the Town of Bloomfield. The Zoom participant list will be used in place of roll call.
- **2**. **Public Forum 0:23** No one chose to speak.
- **3.** Adoption of Meeting Minutes from September 18, 2023 0:41 A motion was made by Devin Cowperthwaite from the Town of Stafford, seconded by Eric Anderson from the Town of Andover, to approve the minutes from the meeting on September 18, 2023. This motion was passed unanimously with one (1) abstention made by Jason Scott from the Town of Rocky Hill.

## 4. Staff Reports

- 60 Seconds for Safety: 2024 Annual Safety Performance Targets 1:43
   Roger Krahn reviewed CTDOT's 2024 Annual Safety Performance Targets, noting that CRCOG has historically endorsed CTDOT's targets as those for the region. Mr. Krahn will seek Transportation Committee endorsement of the targets in November, at which point they would be sent to Policy Board for approval.
- **BIL/IIJA Update 4:08** Cara Radzins presented an update on BIL/IIJA funding opportunities, noting that more detailed information is available in the October Funding Opportunities Newsletter. Ms. Radzins shared that Letters of Intent for CTDOT's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Plan Phase 1 are due November 9 and are a prerequisite for applying under this program in early 2024. She also shared that applications under FHWA's Electric Vehicle Charger Reliability and Accessibility Accelerator Grant Program are due November 13.
- **LOTCIP Quarterly Report 6:20** Sotoria Montanari provided highlights from the LOTCIP Quarterly Report for Quarter 1 of FY2024. Representatives from the City of New Britain and the Town of Rocky Hill provided additional information on their projects.
- Update on CTDOT Complete Streets Controlling Design Criteria 14:36 Anaka Maher gave an update on CTDOT's Complete Streets Controlling Design Criteria. She stated that CTDOT has indicated to CRCOG that the criteria will not apply to LOTCIP or Transportation Alternatives (TA) Set-Aside funded projects. Members of the Committee expressed some questions and concerns regarding the controlling criteria, especially related to implementation of the

- criteria and related CTDOT coordination. CRCOG staff will prepare a letter to CTDOT and request written clarification on the Committee's concerns.
- **Greater Hartford Mobility Study Update 36:26** Robert Aloise gave an update on the Greater Hartford Mobility Study, including an overview of the study's primary recommendations. He mentioned that the Governor recently published a press release on the effort and that two public meetings are scheduled for November. Mr. Aloise shared that the Commissioner and representatives from the Greater Hartford Mobility Study will be presenting at the Policy Board meeting on October 25. More information is available at <a href="https://www.hartfordmobilty.com">www.hartfordmobilty.com</a>.
- Executive Director Update 50:30 Matt Hart shared some updates with the Committee. Mr. Hart mentioned the CTDOT presentations that will be occurring at Wednesday's Policy Board meeting. The Commissioner's remarks will center on Safety, and the Project Team from the Greater Hartford Mobility Study will be providing an update on the study. Mr. Hart encouraged all towns to learn about this Study and its potential projects and impacts. Mr. Hart also shared that the CTfastrak/CTrail Corridor Advisory Committee met on October 20. This Committee is a joint initiative with SCRCOG and the Pioneer Valley Commission, and municipal members from CRCOG include Berlin, Enfield, Hartford, New Britain, Newington, Windsor, and Windsor Locks. Mr. Hart encouraged all impacted communities to attend on a regular basis.
- **5. TIP Amendments 55:40** Robert Aloise reviewed the TIP Amendments. A motion was made by Patrice Carson from the Town of Bolton, seconded by David Smith from the Town of Vernon, to accept the TIP Amendments as presented. This motion was passed unanimously.
  - District 4 Various Replace Traffic Control Signals at Various Locations
  - District 1 I-91 Replace Cameras and Communication Equipment
  - Ellington CT 140 Intersection Realignment and Increase Horizontal Curves
  - Southington CT10/332 Remove and Reconstruct Bridges
- **6. CRCOG Vision Zero Task Force Charter 58:50** Roger Krahn stated that CRCOG has been selected as the recipient of a Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) grant to supplement the Regional Transportation Safety Plan (RTSP) for the CRCOG Region and develop it into a Safety Action Plan. This effort requires the creation of a Vision Zero Task Force, and Mr. Krahn presented a proposed Charter for this group, which will need to be approved by the Transportation Committee and Policy Board. A motion was made by Eric Anderson from the Town of Andover, seconded by Greg Sommer from the Town of West Hartford, to approve the Vision Zero Task Force Charter. This motion was passed unanimously.
- 7. **Presentation:** Kristen Levesque, CTDOT Safe Routes to School Coordinator 1:05:40 Kristen Levesque gave a brief presentation on CTDOT's Safe Routes for School program, including its purpose, need, and related legislation. Ms. Levesque also discussed the relationship between Safe Routes to School and Vision Zero, as well as the program's framework around the six Es of equity, education, encouragement, evaluation, enforcement, and engineering. The complete presentation can be found <a href="here">here</a>.

- **8. Other Business 1:14:06** There was no other business discussed.
- **9. Adjourn 1:14:14** The meeting was adjourned at 1:15pm via motion by Patrice Carson from the Town of Bolton, seconded by Rob Trottier from the City of New Britain.