(Closed for FY2022) Federal Transit Administration (FTA) Area of Persistent Poverty Program (AoPP)


The Federal Transit Administration (FTA) announced availability of $20 million+ in FY2023 for the Areas of Persistent Poverty Program (AoPP Program).

This program awards grants to eligible applicants for planning, engineering, or development of technical or financing plans for Eligible Activities to assist Areas of Persistent Poverty or Historically Disadvantaged Communities. A few examples of Eligible Activities, provided on the program website, include improved transit services; new transit routes; engineering for transit facilities and improvements to existing facilities; innovative technologies; planning for low or no emission buses; planning for a new bus facility or intermodal center that supports transit services; integrated fare collection systems.

The program will also consider coordinated public transit human service transportation plans to improve transit service in an Area of Persistent Poverty or Historically Disadvantaged Community, or that provide new service, such as transportation services to address the opioid epidemic, as well as increase access to environmental justice populations, while reducing greenhouse gas emissions and the effects of climate change.

The FTA Mapping Tool identifies six municipalities within CRCOG that have census tracts within the Area of Persistent Poverty (AoPP) and Historically Disadvantaged Communities (HDC):

  • East Hartford
  • Enfield
  • Hartford
  • Manchester
  • Mansfield (also Storrs)
  • New Britain

Link to Program Website: FTA Area of Persistent Poverty Program 

Webinars:  FTA will host webinars on:

 Link to Related Website:

FTA’s mapping tool  

Eligible Applicants: Entities that are eligible recipients or subrecipients under 49 U.S.C. 5307, 49 U.S.C. 5310, or 49 U.S.C. 5311 that are located in Areas of Persistent Poverty or Historically Disadvantaged Communities.

Due Date: March 10, 2023 (via Grants.gov)

Non-Federal Cost-Share: Cost sharing is not required. The minimum Federal share is 90% of the net total project cost.