Natural Hazards Mitigation Planning

The Capitol Region is active in planning for natural hazards mitigation in order to reduce our vulnerabilities to natural disasters and enable our communities to minimize losses and recover more effectively when disasters do occur.  
CRCOG has prepared a Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan covering all 38 member municipalities. The purpose of this plan is to identify natural hazards likely to affect the Capitol Region and its nearly one million residents, assess vulnerabilities to these hazards, and set forth mitigation strategies that will reduce the loss of life and property, economic disruptions, and the cost of post‐disaster recovery for the region's communities. The plan considers the following natural hazards that affect the region: dam failure, drought, earthquakes, flooding, forest and wildland fires, hurricanes and tropical storms, tornadoes and high winds, and severe winter storms.
The plan has been adopted by all member cities and towns and received FEMA's approval on November 7, 2019. The plan is in effect until November 6, 2024. With FEMA's approval, our towns and cities are eligible to apply to the CT Division of Emergency Management and Homeland Security (DEMHS) for mitigation grants administered by FEMA.

2019 – 2024 Plan Update

Executive Summary

Multi-jurisdictional Sections

Municipal Annexes (ALL)

Appendices A-F

Appendices G-H

Adoption Resolutions

FEMA Plan Review Tool

FEMA Approval Letter

Municipal Annexes

You can access the Municipal Annexes of each of the 38 communities participating in the 2019-2024 Capitol Region Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan Update below:

Andover Mansfield
Avon Marlborough
Berlin New Britain
Bloomfield Newington
Bolton Plainville
Canton Rocky Hill
Columbia Simsbury
Coventry Somers
East Granby South Windsor
East Hartford Southington
East Windsor Stafford
Ellington Suffield
Enfield Tolland
Farmington Vernon
Glastonbury West Hartford
Granby Wethersfield
Hartford Willington
Hebron Windsor
Manchester Windsor Locks